Scientific Advisors

Michael Jay, Ph.D. – Co-Founder of NanoMed Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is a professor in the Molecular Pharmaceutics division at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Dr. Jay joined the faculty at the UNC School of Pharmacy on July 1, 2008 after a twenty-seven-year career at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy. Prior to that, he had been at the University of Connecticut for one and a half years in the Department of Nuclear Medicine. His research projects are at the interface between the pharmaceutical and nuclear sciences. They involve the application of pharmaceutical approaches to solve problems related to nuclear imaging and therapy, and the use of radioanalytical approaches to solve problems encountered in the development of novel formulations and drug-delivery systems.

John B. Landis, Ph.D. has 30 years of leadership experience in pharmaceutical research and development. Recently, he served as Senior Vice President of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Schering-Plough where he led a global team of 1,400 scientists engaged in the development of pharmaceuticals. Prior to joining Schering-Plough, Dr. Landis was Senior Vice President of Preclinical Development at Pharmacia where he led global functions for toxicology, drug metabolism, and pharmaceutical sciences. He chaired the corporate committees responsible for the development of all oncology drugs at Pharmacia and all infectious disease drugs at Schering-Plough.

During his career, Dr. Landis helped develop over 40 new medications, including Camptosar for colorectal cancer, Xanax for anxiety and panic, Atgam for organ transplant and aplastic anemia, Prostin VR for treating neonates with congenital defects, Rogaine for hair loss, Depo Provera for contraception, Xalatan for glaucoma, Mirapex for Parkinson’s disease, Detrol for overactive bladder, Zyvox for serious gram positive infections including MRSA (methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus), Asmanex for asthma, and Noxafil for life-threatening invasive fungal infections such as Candida and Aspergillus.

Dr. Landis has served on numerous professional boards, academic advisory panels, and business Boards of Directors, and has held leadership positions in the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturer’s Association, the United States Pharmacopeia, and the American Chemical Society. Dr. Landis received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Kent State University and his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from Purdue University.

J. Patrick McGovren, Ph.D. is a longtime and well-known cancer research specialist, holding senior positions in big pharma oncology departments, as well as extensive consulting experience. He was involved in the discovery and/or development of nine clinically evaluated anti-tumor drugs and has significant clinical trial operations and IND/NDA submission experience. Currently, Dr. McGovren is VP, Preclinical Development of ProNai Therapeutics, Inc., an emerging biopharmaceutical company that is leveraging its novel and proprietary nucleic acid-based interfering technology, DNAi®, to advance a next generation of therapies for patients with cancer and other complex genetic diseases. Prior to joining ProNAi, Dr. McGovren was most recently Research Director, Clinical Pharmacology, Medical Development at Pfizer, following a term as Clinical Research Manager,Oncology Medical Affairs at Pharmacia. Between 1976 and 2000, Dr. McGovren held numerous senior research and management posts at Pharmacia & Upjohn.

Charles Bibart, Ph.D. has over 25 years experience in new drug development, technology transfer and manufacturing. Most recently, he held the position of Group Vice President – Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients for Pharmacia. Responsibilities included executive management of all chemical and biopharmaceutical bulk active ingredient plants, as well as, pilot development facilities and all process development functions. Prior experiences included executive management of preclinical development functions including analytical development, pharmaceutical development, drug metabolism, and drug safety at The Upjohn Company. Over the years, he has been involved in the development of over a hundred drug and product candidates working on the discovery-development interface and the development-manufacturing interface. Dr. Bibart received his bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Hope College and his Ph.D. degree in Physical Chemistry from Indiana University.

David D. Allen, R.Ph., Ph.D. is the founding dean of pharmacy and professor of pharmaceutical sciences at the Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Pharmacy and professor of physiology and pharmacology in the Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine. He received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy at the University of Kentucky and then worked in community pharmacy for several years before returning to the University of Kentucky to earn his doctorate in pharmaceutical sciences. In addition, Allen served as an intramural research training award postdoctoral fellow at NIH in Bethesda, Maryland. He has had grant support for his research from international, national, state and local funding sources, including the NIH, the American Heart Association, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the Chilean government and industrial sources. Most recently, he served as Associate Dean of Curricular Affairs at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy in Amarillo, Texas. Allen has published 65 peer-reviewed articles, 34 professional publications, 80 abstracts and presented his work over 130 times across the United States and abroad.

Susan R. Mallery, D.D.S., Ph.D., Professor, College of Dentistry, Oral Maxillofacial Surgery & Pathology, The Ohio State University. Dr. Mallery’s research interests include regulation of cell cycle progression; in-teraction of cellular thiol redux status with mitogen responsiveness; association of cellular calcium status with cellular proliferation and differentiation in endothelial cells; and regulation of angiogenesis and neo-vascularization. Dr. Mallery and Dr. Mumper are co-inventors and collaborated on the development of the BioAdhesive Berry Gel for which NanoMed has an Option to an exclusive license; a phase I/Ia clinical study commenced December 15, 2005.